DIY: Trick or Treat Costume

It’s that time of the year again when I have to come up a costume for my two girls. I am not really a fan of buying costumes from a store since find it expensive and there are some which are a bit tacky (and the super nice ones are sooo expensive!), plus they will only wear it about twice. So I try to come up with a respectable outfit on my own, depending on the character they like to wear. 

This year, my eldest wanted to be Snow White and the youngest, Poppy from Trolls. First, I formed an idea on how I wanted it to turn out (thank you Google), then I looked at the girls’ closet to see if we already have something useful. 

For Snow White, I had in mind the following:

  • White stockings ✔️
  • Black shoes ✔️
  • Yellow skirt ✔️
  • Thin white inner shirt with collar ✔️
  • Royal blue shirt – I bought a playing blue shirt which she can use in the future (~PhP150)
  • Red ribboned headband – I made this with existing headband and red ribbons
  • Red belt – I bought cheap 1/2 yard red cloth for about PhP20

For Poppy,

  • Bright blue floral dress ✔️
  • Knee high white socks ✔️
  • Green sandals/ shoes ✔️
  • Hair – I was originally planning on tulle + headband, but my husband wanted full hair. Luckily, I found a bright pink shirt tulle skirt (PhP350) which I turned upside down. The good thing here is even if the skirt is expensive, it’s completely cute reusable!
  • Green/ blue flowers for hair – I used an old stretchy headband for this ✔️

Look at how the costumes turned out:



❤️❤️❤️

Leave a comment