Vask : 12 Courses of Interesting Bites

It’s been five years! Five amazing years since my ex-boyfriend became my husband. Now, 5 years and 2 kids after, we happily thank our amazing God for his goodness in keeping this marriage and this family together. We are immeasurably blessed by what God has done and continues to do in our relationship, and we continually pray that we may be good stewards of His love and grace in the years to come.

This year, we were able to have an awesome dining experience at Vask. Located at Fort Bonifacio, Vask offers a gastronomical experience unlike any other.

We tried the 12-course meal named Lakbay. Each dish was wonderfully thought of and beautifully prepared. It’s an open kitchen so you can actually see how they prepare your food. It’s amazing how these culinary experts can think of all these different actors and textures working together to create great dishes.

Binondo: A tribute to street food (shrimp siomai, squid isaw, empanaditas)
Lutong Bahay: Squaash soup, Baby tomatoes with Pili Sauce, Sayote)
Beer Urchin: Sea Urchin, Beer Clams, Foie Gras Powder, Orange

 

Ravine: Aligue, Coconut Meat, Avocado Cream, Cilantro, Buco Soup
Sorsogon: Lobster, Cashew, Pickled Green Mango, Green Munggo Soup
Steak: Fish, Talinum, Kangkong, Pesto
Buro: Fermented Rice, Maya Maya, Mustasa
Earth: Grilled Wagyu, Beetroot, Ginger Sour Creme, Ginger, Cilantro Roots
Taho: Goat’s Milk Tofu, Muscovado Tapioca, Ginger Perfume
Cassava: Coconut, Carabao Milk, Biasong
Arabica Kape: Coffee Creme Brulee, Dark Chocolate
Sungka: Native delicacies from all over the Philippines

My personal favorites were:

  • Binondo – That single bite of shrimp siomai and squid isaw set the meal’s tone for me. A good start to the course.
  • Ravine – First time I actually ate crab and liked it. That avocado cream and buco soup balanced the dish really well.
  • Buro – I don’t particularly like anything fermented but this one was a real winner. That rice and Maya Maya was superb, with crunchy fish skin to boot.
  • Earth – Done rare, but juicy and went very well with the beetroot. The Cilantro roots also added a salty flavor to each bite.
  • Kape – Loved this dessert concoction. Indeed smooth, creamy, and crunchy!
  • Sungka – Presentation was spot on, I loved that it provided a wide array of desserts at bite-size pieces, allowing us to taste all of it.

This set course sets you back PhP3500+ per head. Pretty expensive actually. But I liked this option compared to going on a hotel buffet, since I’m forced to try new food and overall the dining experience was superb. If we ate in a buffet, I’d probably have my usual food items (and I’m not really a steak or lobster or foie gras eater) and wouldn’t have been able to maximize the buffet anyway.

Although this was slightly expensive, I’m glad we took this option. It’s more private, service was great, and food was yummy and uniquely prepared. Two thumbs up for Vask’s gastronomic experience 🙂

2 thoughts on “Vask : 12 Courses of Interesting Bites

  1. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

Leave a comment