Money Matters

When I shifted from corporate to full-time homemaker with some work-at-home projects, I felt a huge difference on how I viewed money. True, it has always been said that the joy of spending time with family can never be replaced by what I was earning (small amount that it was), but at the same time, I still wanted the luxuries that a job afforded me.

I didn’t grow up in a rich home, but we were adequately provided for, with some leisure time on the side, and it was pretty comfortable. But when I moved out of the house, I prided myself on having a job that sustained my wants and gave me time to enjoy what I was earning. I felt I was doing okay for myself. It took me a long time to finally step down from corporate and step up on motherhood and family life. If circumstances were a bit different, I don’t think I’d ever let go of that corporate comfort zone. But I did, and I was fine with it..inside my head that is.

It took quite some time for my heart to accept that decision and after the initial romance with being a full time wife and mom, deep inside I wanted more and felt that money is what would make me happy. Comparison is really the robber of joy. As I look at other people and how their life seems to be filled with travel, cars, homes, etcetera (social media certainly does not help curb that comparison in any way) and how seemingly simple my life was, I felt that I was stuck in a rut, with earning money my only consolation to having an enjoyable life. What a waste.

This article on money by Joy Tanchi-Mendoza resonated with me and reminded me about how money can change our perspectives and lead us to believe that our joy is anchored on it. I think I have already written a lot on this blog about money, albeit in different forms. I feel money really is the kryptonite to my enjoyment of what God has already blessed me with. I really thank God I have a husband who keeps me grounded on what’s important.

Truth be told, having less has helped us be more prudent with our expenses and to prioritize, as opposed to before when money came easy and there’s a higher tendency to spend just because, for things we don’t really use. There’s also better appreciation for what we usually take for granted — good health, food, a roof over our heads (even if it is rented), free stuff (!), better family relationships, time for myself, my husband and kids, and most importantly trust and dependence on God and less on ourselves.

In all these, in my stubbornness and my feelings of inadequacy, God remains to be faithful. I really don’t know how, but even though expenses seem to be bigger than income, God has allowed us financial health, above all His other provisions. He has also allowed us to be obedient in giving to the church and His work. Because ultimately, all that we have is God’s, we can never outgive Him.

Leave a comment